NEW REQUIREMENT FOR ILLINOIS COSMETOLOGY LICENSE RENEWAL

Listen. Support. Connect.

Reserve Your Time For A ONE-HOUR Course @ABS

CHICAGO SAYS NO MORE TO 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, SEXUAL ASSAULT


Learn how to help your clients experiencing domestic violence or sexual assault

 

 

  • When cosmetologists and estheticians renew their license in September 2019, they will be the first group in Illinois’ 2-year renewal cycle asked to confirm they have completed this new course now required by the Cosmetology Renewal License Domestic Violence Course (HB 4264/PA99-0766) 

  • According to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR), here is the timeline for other groups required to complete a one-hour, one-time Continuing Education (CE) regarding domestic violence 

  • September 2020—cosmetology teachers and esthetic teachers 

  • October 2020—nail technicians, nail technology teachers, hair braiders and hair braiding teachers

  • This requirement must be completed in order for a license to be renewed. This requirement equips 84,000 licensees to help clients when they ask for help

  • Enroll in the Listen. Support. Connect. class at ABS 2019 to fulfill your requirement for Illinois license renewal

  • If you attended Listen. Support. Connect. at ABS 2018, ABS 2017 or ABS 2016, you are in compliance and do not have to take the course again to renew your Illinois license

  • Chicago Says No More experts in the fields of domestic violence and sexual assault produced Listen. Support. Connect., in collaboration with Cosmetologists Chicago and Pivot Point, to increase awareness of the epidemic of intimate violence and to educate salon professionals about the best ways to respond when a client shares personal information or asks for help

  • Certified DV and SA instructors, who have completed 40 hours of training, will help you learn how to recognize signs, how to respond when your clients ask for help, and how to identify and direct your clients to helpful resources

 

with Chicago Says No More Instructors
PRICE: FREE with ABS Admission
CEH: 1 hour

CLASS LISTINGS @ABS 2019

Saturday, March 30 Sunday, March 31 Monday, April 1
12noon – 1pm  CE-2000 9am – 10am  CE-2004 10am – 11am  CE-2011
1pm - 2pm  CE-2001 10am – 11am  CE-2005 11am – 12noon  CE-2012
2pm - 3pm  CE-2002 11am – 12noon  CE-2006 12noon – 1pm  CE-2013
3pm - 4pm  CE-2003 12noon – 1pm  CE-2007 1pm - 2pm  CE-2014
1pm - 2pm  CE-2008 2pm - 3pm  CE-2015
2pm - 3pm  CE-2009 3pm - 4pm  CE-2016
3pm - 4pm  CE-2010

The Chicago Cosmetologists Association, Inc. is an approved sponsor of continuing education by the Illinois Department of Finance
and Professional Regulation (license #190-00101).

Frequently Asked Questions about the New Illinois Law Requiring DV/SA education

 

 



 


Karen Gordon & Kristie Paskan interviewed on air!

 

Listen to Karen and Kristie speak about the program on WGN 720!


WGN Radio 720AM - Recorded January 3, 2017


Listen to our own Karen Gordon (VP of Cosmetologists Chicago & Owner of J. Gordon Designs) and
Kristie Paskan (Founder of Chicago Says No More) discuss "The Most Uplifting Law of 2017" about
Domestic Violence and how we can help as Cosmetologists.
Click Here


For more information about Chicago Says No More check out their website and take the pledge
at: 
http://chicagosaysnomore.org/


 

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions about the New Illinois Law
Requiring DV/SA education

 

Q. What is the new law requiring salon professionals receive training in
Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (DV/SA)?


A. The new law is called the Cosmetology Renewal License Domestic Violence
Course (HB4264/PA99-0766).



Q. When did the law go into effect?


A.  January 1, 2017. 



Q. What does it mean for working hairstylists, nail technicians, estheticians
and hair braiders?


A. Every licensed salon professional is now required to take a one-hour, one-time
awareness training in DV/SA in order to renew their license.



Q. Do salon professionals need to take the training every two years to renew
their license?


A. No. The law requires only one-hour training, one time. However, they may choose
to take an approved DV/SA course in the following years and it will count as one
Continuing Education Unit.



Q. How was this law enacted?


A. Illinois Senator Bill Cunningham, whose wife is a former hairdresser, and
Representative Fran Hurley introduced and sponsored this legislation. Salon
professionals were chosen for this innovative education and awareness training
because of the close relationship between salon pros and their clients.



Q. What is Chicago Says No More (CSNM) and what is its role in the new law?


A. Chicago Says No More is a coalition of agencies that serves those affected by
DV/SA in the Chicago metro area and across Illinois. Their goal is to collaborate
on new ways to address the epidemic of DV/SA. CSNM has developed the
curriculum and will provide classes throughout Illinois.



Q. What is Cosmetologists Chicago’s role in this legislation and requirement?


A. Cosmetologists Chicago (CC), a 15,000-member association dedicated to the
education and protection of salon professionals, has been working with CSNM
since the legislation was initiated (almost 2 years). Cosmetologists Chicago
worked closely with CSNM on this legislation to protect the safety and liability
of cosmetologists in Illinois, as well as ensuring their education on this sensitive
topic does not detract from the technical and business education required to
pursue a successful business or career.



Q. What is the liability of cosmetologists if they choose to interact with
clients on the subject of domestic violence and sexual assault?


A. Cosmetologists Chicago worked hard in Springfield to ensure the safety of
our constituents. The law specifically states that “a person who completes
domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education, or his or her
employer, shall not be civilly or criminally liable for acting in good faith
or failing to act 
on information obtained during the course of employment
concerning potential domestic violence or sexual assault.”

In other words, neither the salon professional nor the salon itself is liable
if they choose to provide information or if they choose not to get involved.



Q. How will the Law be enforced?


A. The program, called Listen. Support. Connect. was designed exclusively
for salon professionals by DV/SA experts and salon industry leaders of
Cosmetologists Chicago. This curriculum has been approved by the
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation in Springfield
which will monitor the CE units of cosmetologists.



Q. What will a salon professional learn in the one hour DV/SA training?


A. Recognition of the symptoms of DV/SA and resources for a DV/SA victim
are just part of the curriculum. This class will provide an overview of the scope
of the epidemic of DV/SA and include options for salon professionals to use
should they become aware of the symptoms—whether among friends, family
or salon clients.



Q. How much does the Listen. Support. Connect training cost?


A. The training will be provided at no charge to salon professionals when
conducted by instructors who have completed a 40-hour training program
in DV/SA.



Q. Where can a salon professional take the training?


A. Listen. Support. Connect. offered 17 one-hour training sessions at the
America's Beauty Show in March /April.
 


Once the necessary rules and regulations for this new law are written by the Department of Financial
and Professional Regulation, Chicago Says No More will announce a schedule of additional free
classes throughout Illinois.


The Chicago Cosmetologists Association, Inc. is an approved sponsor of continuing education
by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (license #190-00101). 
Educators and events subject to change without notice.

Keep Your License Current

For contact information for state licensing boards, visit our licensure resource page or contact
the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation at (217) 785-0800 or email 
them directly.


Search

Login